The award categories 2018

The categories for the Care Home Awards 2018 have been revised.

Currently, there are 12 categories for care homes, 12 for suppliers and service providers to enter, and 6 categories for overall achievement:

Suggestions for new categories or revisions to category descriptions for 2019 are always welcome.


Care Home categories

  • Best for Architecture, Interior Design or Communal Spaces
  • Best for Garden or Outdoor Spaces
  • Best for Communication (with residents, families, friends & carers)
  • Best Facilities Management or Maintenance Team
  • Best for Clinical Facilities
  • Best for Non-clinical Facilities (including wellbeing and alternative therapies)
  • Best for Sporting, Social or Leisure Activities
  • Best for Nutrition, Food & the Dining Experience
  • Best Care Home Marketing, Advertising or PR Campaign or Initiative
  • Best Training Initiative
  • Best Nursing Care
  • Best Specialist Care (including respite, dementia, special needs, stroke, etc)


Supplier categories

  • Best Equipment or Furniture Supplier
  • Best Clinical Equipment, Product or Service Supplier
  • Best Paramedical or Therapeutic Service, Activity or Product (eyecare, chiropody, hygiene, therapies, art, music, etc.)
  • Best Professional Services Provider (legal, financial, planning, property management, compliance, etc.)
  • Best Architecture or Interior Design Specialists
  • Best Consultancy
  • Best Food or Catering Supplier
  • Best Maintenance Supplies & Soft Facilities
  • Best Outdoor Supplier (landscaping, equipment, etc)
  • Best Training Provider
  • Best IT & Communications Supplier (equipment, software and services)
  • Best Marketing, Advertising, PR or Digital Specialist


Overall Achievement Categories (Gold Awards)

(To enter these Overall Achievement categories you must have entered at least one of the Care Home categories)

  • Best Individual Care Home
  • Best Single Care Home in a Group
  • Best Residential Community
  • Best Small Care Home Group (up to 9 homes)
  • Best Regional or National Group (10-49 homes)
  • Best Large Care Home Group (over 50 homes)



If you have constructive thoughts about the categories we would love to hear them, especially if your views help us improve the categories for 2019.

Headline sponsor

Category sponsors


Media partners

Supported by